The Flies Pt. 2

The fly that i had let live in the past must have slipped my mind. He changed my perspective, yet i let that perspective slip from my grasp. I had been seeing more and more flies at my job. And without thinking of the creature itself anymore, i was thinking about my duty and ego. I had whacked a few flies, injuring them and caging them into the bug zapper. Trying desperately to get them electrocuted i never succeeded. I could hear throughout the day the flies being zapped occasionally but never had the chance to see it. I gave up on trying to zap them and now was in it to collect my trophies. I swatted a good accumulation within the past two or three weeks. The bottom of the cage was full with their carcasses. Yesterday i saw a desperate fly at the bottom of the cage that was still fluttering about frantically. He hit the bug zapper rods (which the whole time i thought it was the lights that shocked them) and got stuck at the bottom literally frying with an electric smokey flavor. If i hadnt witnessed it i would have indeed heard it. It was a long duration of shock venting through his body.

Now i was aware of how to properly utilize the bug zapper. I was excited to retry my attempts to shock the helpless invertebrates.

Today i found one on the floor and sprayed him with the water i was using to wash dishes. He became wet and heavy unable to fly. I picked a skewer up to lift him from the ground and he jumped on it quickly. Immediately I rushed him to the zapper and poked him in through the grate to give him a shock. he kept rotating and circling and running away from the rods, like he knew what these things were. Eventually with my efforts to dismember him so bad i successfully electrocuted the fly.

It didn’t satisfy me. In fact i felt remorse. This little guy was smart enough to avoid it. I was also inhumane enough to kill him using a method that was enabled for scared and stupid flies. I looked at the bottom of the cage and saw that the last batch of dead heads were evacuated. It was just the one that i had shocked. It emphasized the unfairness about the cat and mouse i just played.

I may “need” to kill these flies. Maybe they are a bother. I still don’t know their purpose of creation. But i do know this. The time i’ve examined their reactions and interests has brought me closer to them. Its like ive never known how a fly really felt to recently. I like them.

About Zomb Knotts

Im an artist and a music listener. Tell me your thoughts and opinions. I like conversing. I hope we can collaberate something together! View all posts by Zomb Knotts

Leave a Reply

nic

Nicola Alessandrini works

The Primitive Entertainment Workshop

Fictional Occurrences --------------------------- by Richard F. Yates and Other Weirdies

Alex Robichaud Photoblog

See for yourself.

Creative Candyfloss Monster

A collection of work by Daniel Saunders

leahsmithson.wordpress.com/

Surrealistic Contemporary Art + Design Blog

Really Poor Decisions

Bad judgement and irresponsibility will be on my tombstone.

Jakob's Album Reviews

Words About Music

GonzoKaraoke

Enter the vortex of FREE to D/L

canadianstonermetal

Take Drugs. Hail Satan

Natalia Maks

Travel. See. Shoot. Learn.

Cherry Blue Salt

Brian Filipowich's Art

theartfulwolf

where I can display my art and cartoons

nic

Nicola Alessandrini works

The Primitive Entertainment Workshop

Fictional Occurrences --------------------------- by Richard F. Yates and Other Weirdies

Alex Robichaud Photoblog

See for yourself.

Creative Candyfloss Monster

A collection of work by Daniel Saunders

leahsmithson.wordpress.com/

Surrealistic Contemporary Art + Design Blog

Really Poor Decisions

Bad judgement and irresponsibility will be on my tombstone.

Jakob's Album Reviews

Words About Music

GonzoKaraoke

Enter the vortex of FREE to D/L

canadianstonermetal

Take Drugs. Hail Satan

Natalia Maks

Travel. See. Shoot. Learn.

Cherry Blue Salt

Brian Filipowich's Art

theartfulwolf

where I can display my art and cartoons

